Kintsukuroi

DSC_4065edit1Kintsukroi:
(n.)(v.phr.) “To repair with gold”; the art of repairing something with gold or silver lacquer and understanding that the piece is more beautiful for having been broken.

Gold and metallic tones are really really hard to create in photoshop, frig. Not entirely happy with this finished effect but it’s being posted for now – Really like the idea of Kintsukuroi thought so it’ll likely be one I explore more.. Or at least try to do justice another time. If anyone has some good tricks to creating metallic tones in photoshop lemme know! The best ones I can find are for text, and they don’t always translate well to non-text.

[week three. picture 3]

This entry was posted in 52+, Black and White, Photography, Self Portrait and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kintsukuroi

  1. shir says:

    Neat image and processing. Sorry, no advice for the metallic tones in PS!

  2. kimtsukuroi says:

    I think you did a great job :) Better than I could ever do haha. That’s why I want to ask you if I could please use this image to put on my website? At least until I manage to make a picture of myself like that haha.

  3. Pingback: Kintsukuroi, pt.2 | Alexandra Leask

Leave a Reply

